Home » News and posts » Region 6 2023 Awards Ceremony
Announcements Awards R6 Actvities

Region 6 2023 Awards Ceremony

At the Region OpCom held March 15-17 in the Seattle area, the following winners of the 2023 Region awards were presented. Congratulations to the winners on their achievements!

  • Outstanding Large Student Branch (more than 50 members)

Winner: IEEE Student Branch at the University of California, Irvine (Orange County)
Award Representative: Aaron Yen
Citation: For outstanding activities and contributions promoting technical, professional, and social development of its members.

  • Affinity Group Individual

Winner: Jeffrey Pawlan (Santa Clara Valley)
Citation: For exceptional efforts, resurrecting the Santa Clara Valley Section Life Member Affinity Group (LMAG), making it a thriving, engaged Chapter.

  • Chapter of the Year (includes Society Chapters and Technical Councils but not Affinity Groups)

Winner: SFBAC PELS Chapter (San Franciso Bay Area Council)
Award Representative: Dr. Kishan Joshi
Citation: For enhancing student engagement in the field of power electronics and organizing valuable state-of-the-art technical events for its membership.

  • Outstanding Engineer

Winner: Divya Garikapati (Santa Clara Valley)
Citation: Divya’s pivotal role in advancing autonomous driving includes technical innovation, exceptional leadership, safety commitment, and contributions to research and development.

  • Membership Development

Winner: Brianne Tengan (Hawaii)
Citation: Through outstanding leadership and vision, implemented programs to retain members, increase IEEE visibility and improve engagement with other professional organizations.

  • Industry Excellence

Winner: Gora Datta (Orange County)
Citation: For Excellence in Leadership in Standards Development within IEEE, HL7 and ISO in Digital Health Informatics and Blockchain Technologies.


Follow Us

Find Announcements

Past Announcements

Local Events

Region Meetings