Home » About Us » Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Quick index:
Areas and Sections
Region Meetings
Past Directors

Region Executive Committee 2020

PositionNameContact
DirectorKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
Director-ElectTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorKathleen Kramerk.kramer@ieee.org
TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
SecretaryRichard Morsermorse@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairRichard Morsermorse@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairAmber Orraorr@ieee.org
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeMariella Saviolamsaviola@sandiego.edu
Student professional Awareness ConferenceAlberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org

Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators

PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior MembershipVasudeva Atlurivpatluri@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionLoretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
ConferencesCharlie Jacksoncornetto45@earthlink.net
Educational ActivitiesMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Electronic Communications CoordintorMatt Smithmatthew.smith.r@ieee.org
Employment & Career Services CoordinatorUpkar Singh Dhaliwalupkar@ieee.org
Finance TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
Government Activities ChairSkyler Nixskylernix@email.arizona.edu
GR Past ChairSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
HistorianKartik Kulkarnitalkingkarthik@gmail.com
Humanitarian ActivitiesNiru Prakash Kumarnirupamapk78@gmail.com
Industry EngagementChair: Randy K Rannow pi-boson@ieee.org
Information Management CoordinatorTaylor Winshiptaylor.winship@ieee.org
Membership DevelopmentChair: Abdur Rehmana.r.rehman@ieee.org
Committee: Ram Sivaramanramsivaraman@ieee.org
Milestones CoordinatorBrian Bergbrianberg@gmail.com
Professional Activities (PACE)Chair: Amber Orraorr@ieee.org
VC: Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Chad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
OU AnalyticsChris Gunningc.gunning@ieee.org
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorElizabeth Johnstonlise.johnston@ieee.org
Strategic PlanningTim Leett.lee@ieee.org
SPA-X Coordinator (PACE Students)Alberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
TrainingChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
WebmasterEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Affinity groups
Region Life Member CoordinatorMike Andrewsm.andrews@ieee.org
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorHeather Quinnhquinn@lanl.gov
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Ravendar Lalravendar.bhojwani@gmail.com
YP-Students CoordinatorAlberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
Conferences
Conference Chair, 2020 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS19)Anis Ben Arfianis.b.arfi@gmail.com
Conference Chair, 2020 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2020)Paul Cunninghampaul@iimg.com
Conference Chair, 2020 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Sustainability (SusTech2020)Charlie Jacksoncornetto45@earthlink.net
Conference Chair, 2021 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Sustainability (SusTech2021)Gora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org

Region 6 Committees

Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator

Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees

IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach CommitteeR6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Membership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young ProfessionalsR6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)

Region 6 Representatives on IEEE-USA Committees

PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional AwarenessR6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&DR6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA CCP CommitteeSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
updated 7-Aug-20

OpCom

2020 R6 Areas and Section Chairs

Region 6 Areas: there are 5 geographical areas for the Western USA:
Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Co-ChairDhaval Brahmbhattdhaval@phychip.net
Area SACRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Hawaii SectionChairSteven Minakamismina002@fiu.edu
Northern Nevada SectionChairMohammed Atea Ahmad Ben-Idrimbenidris@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairAaron Linaaron.lin.us@ieee.org
Sacramento Valley SectionChairMahyar Zarghamimahyar.zarghami@csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairCharmayne Hughescmhughes13@gmail.com
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairTaylor Winshiptaylor.winship@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairMarcelo Sierosiero@ideassiero.com
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairBill DeHopedehope1@llnl.gov
Northeast (NE) AreaChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Vice-Chair
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairR K Rannowpi-boson@ieee.org
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)V ChairBradley Michael Whitakerbradley.whitaker1@montana.edu
Eastern Idaho SectionChairJames A Smithjsmith.prodev@gmail.com
Eastern Montana SectionChairBryant Myron Beckbryantbeck24@gmail.com
Utah SectionChairDaniel N Donahoedan@1000kilometers.com
Western Montana Section (Butte)V ChairKevin J Neguskevin@tctwest.net
Northwest (NW) AreaChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Vice Chair
Area SACCharles Mayercemayer@alaska.edu
Alaska SectionChairNolan James Willisnolanwillis88@gmail.com
V ChairJesse Moemoejl@muni.org
Central Washington SectionChairRandall C Grovesr.groves@ieee.org
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionChairTBA
Oregon SectionChairPaulo Vasconcelospaulo.vasconcelos@ieee.org
Palouse SectionChairKrishnanjan Ravikumarkrishnanjan_gubba_ravikumar@selinc.com
Richland SectionChairMichael Merlin Woodmichael.wood.us@ieee.org
Seattle SectionChairHarold Javidharold.javid@computer.org
Spokane SectionChairAmber Orraorr@ieee.org
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice ChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Area SAC
Buenaventura SectionChairDeron L Johnsonderonj@ieee.org
Central Coast SectionChairRuth E Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairThomas Joseph Hendersontomhenderson123@att.net
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairAleksandar Babicaleksandar.babic@ieee.org
Foothill SectionChairDavid Gonzalezdavidgonzalez@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairMalak Shirkhanimalak.shirkhani@sce.com
Orange County SectionChairIrvin Huangirvinbhuang@gmail.com
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Southern California Council
ChairGora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Vice Chair
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Area ExcomSarge Benson
Alamogordo-Holloman SectionChairCleon H Barkercleon@tularosa.net
Albuquerque SectionChairJason Neelyjneely@sandia.gov
Fort Huachuca SectionChairJohn DeLallajd@arizona.edu
Las Vegas SectionChairMark Damronmdamron@yahoo.com
Los Alamos/Northern New Mexico SectionChairHanna E Makarukhanna_m@lanl.gov
Phoenix SectionChairVivek Guptavmgupta@ieee.org
San Diego SectionChairKathy Hayashikathyhh@gmail.com
Tucson SectionChairKeith M Kummkkumm@ieee.org
updated 25-May-20

Meetings

2020 Region 6 Meetings

EventDateLocation
Conferences
IEEE Rising Stars3-JanLas Vegas
WIE-ILC19-MaySan Diego
SusTechApril 23-25, 2020Southern California
GHTCOctober 29-Nov. 1, 2020Seattle
Region Meetings
Region Opcom7-9 FebEmbassy Suites North @LAX
Sections Congress 202021-23 AugustCANCELLED
R6 ExcomTBAVirtual
Spring Area Meetings
NE Area14-MarSalt Lake City
SW Area28-MarAlbuquerque
Central Area4-Apr 23-MayCSU East Bay
Southern Area4-AprUC Riverside
NW Area18-AprPortland
Fall Area Meetings
SW Area12-SepSan Diego
NE Area19-SepBoise
NW Area19-SepTBD
Central Area3-OctUC Davis
Southern Area3-OctTBD
IEEE Board SeriesFeb. 12-17Orlando, FL
IEEE Board SeriesJune 24-29VIRTUAL
IEEE Board SeriesNov. 18-23Bellevue, WA
25-June-20

Past Directors

Past Region 6 Directors
DateName
1963Daniel E. Noble/1964 Bruce S. Angwin
1965Bruce S. Angwin
1967Stanley F. Kaisel
1969L. C. Hedrick
1971John J. Guarrera
1973Einar E. Ingebretsen
1975Carleton A. Bayless
1977John W. Thatcher
1979Charles A. Eldon (Bud)
1981Frederick G. Suffield
1983Ralph A. Lamm
1985Jane G. Evans
1987Richard L. Doyle
1989Allen R. Stubberud
1991Jerry C. Aukland
1993Chester C. Taylor
1995William E. Murray
1997John B. Damonte
1999W. Cleon Anderson
2001Lawrence M. Hamerman
2003Evelyn H. Hirt
2005Robert L. Baldwin
2007Loretta J. Arellano
2009Leonard J. Bond
2011Edward G. Perkins
2013Michael R. Andrews
2015Thomas (Tom) Coughlin
2017Kathleen Kramer

 

Follow Us

Upcoming Local Events

Oct 02
Oct 03

The Life of a Consultant

October 3 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Washington DC
United States

Upcoming Region & Volunteer Meetings

Find Announcements

Past Announcements