Home » About Us » Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

The Region has 35 Sections and 2 sub-Sections, organized in to 5 Areas: Northeast, Northwest, Central, Southern and Southwest.

Quick index:
Areas and Sections
Region Meetings
Past Directors

R6 Sections and Websites (as reported to IEEE)

Region Executive Committee 2024

PositionNameContact
Region DirectorKathy Hayashi.kathyh
Past DirectorTim Leett.lee@ieee.org
Director-ElectJoseph Weijoseph.wei@ieee.org
TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
SecretaryElizabeth Farkasefarkas@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairAleksandar Babic,C Jacksonaleksandar.babich@gmail.com
c.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairRichard Morsermorse@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairAmber Orraorr@ieee.org
Industry EngagementTim Leett.lee@ieee.org
Student Activities ChairHeather D Moniganhmonigan@gmail.com
Region Student Representative
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorPeijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorBrianne Tenganbrianne.tengan@ieee.org

Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators

PositionNameContact
Student Professional Awareness Coordinator (SPA-X)Peijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Admissions and Advancement - Senior MembershipZhensheng Zhangzhenshengz@gmail.com
Awards and RecognitionTony huA-wongtonyhw206@ieee.org
ConferencesScott Tamashirotamashiro@ieee.org
Educational ActivitiesMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Finance TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
Government Activities ChairKathy Hayashikathyh
History ChairBrian Bergb.berg@ieee.org
Information Management CoordinatorSanjay Samuelsanjaysamuel@ieee.org
Membership DevelopmentMansi Tripathi mansi.tripathi94@gmail.com,
Milestones CoordinatorBrian Bergb.berg@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE)Chair: Amber Orraorr@ieee.org
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Dan Christensonchrisdan@xmission.com
OU AnalyticsChris Gunningcgunning@ieee.org
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hamermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress Coordinator
Strategic PlanningEmre Ayranciemrea@ieee.org
Training
WebmasterEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Affinity groups
Region Life Member CoordinatorMike Andrewsm.andrews@ieee.org
Young Professionals (YP) Coordinator
Conferences
Conference Chair, 2023 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS23)Scott Tamashirotamashiro@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2023 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2023)Pritpal Singhpritpal.singh@villanova.edu
Conference Chair, 2023 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Sustainability (SusTech2023)Ed Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org

Region 6 Committees

Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator

Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees

IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach CommitteeR6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Membership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young ProfessionalsR6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)

Region 6 Representatives on IEEE-USA Committees

PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional AwarenessR6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&DR6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA CCP Committee
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition Committee
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair

OpCom

2024 Region 6 Areas and Section Chairs

Region 6 Areas: there are 5 geographical areas for the Western USA:
Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Co-ChairDhaval Brahmbhattdhaval@phychip.net
Hawaii SectionChairBrianne Tenganbrianne.tengan@ieee.org
Northern Nevada SectionChairFrancesco Carobolantecarobolante@ieee.org
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairRoger Doeringr.doering@ieee.org
Sacramento Valley SectionChairPraveen Meduripraveen.meduri@csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairVishakha Sharmash.vishakha@gmail.com
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairWinncy Duwinncy.du@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairMarcelo Sierosiero@ideassiero.com
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairBill DeHopedehope1@llnl.gov
Northeast (NE) AreaChairChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
Vice-Chair
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairBradley Michael Whitakerbradley.whitaker1@montana.edu
Eastern Idaho SectionChairJames A Smithjsmith.prodev@gmail.com
Eastern Montana SectionChairBryant Myron Beckbryantbeck24@gmail.com
Utah SectionChairRandy Jostr.jost@IEEE.ORG
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairDaniel J Trudnowskidtrudnowski@mtech.edu
Western Montana Section (Butte)V ChairKevin J Neguskevin@tctwest.net
Northwest (NW) AreaChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Alaska SectionChairKen Piggj.k.pigg@ieee.org
Central Washington SectionChairLouis J Szablyalszablya@gmail.com
Oregon SectionChairDaniel Goodrichdanielagoodrich@gmail.com
V ChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Palouse SectionChairPavan Penkeypavan_penkey@ieee.org
Richland SectionChairMike Larchemike.larche.us@ieee.org
Seattle SectionChairSanjay Samuelsanjaysamuel@ieee.org
Spokane SectionChairSarah KoeffSara.Koeff@avistacorp.com
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice ChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Area SAC
Buenaventura SectionChairMomin Quddusmominq7@yahoo.com
Central Coast SectionChairRuth E Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairWesley Winklerwewinkler@YAHOO.COM
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairMary Eshaghian26technology@gmail.com
Foothill SectionChairMax Cherubinm.c.us@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairTom Walkertom.walker@ieee.org
Orange County SectionChairAlberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Southern California Council
ChairGora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Vice Chair
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Area ExcomSarge Benson
Alamagordo-HollomanChairCleon H Barkercleon@tularosa.net
Albuquerque SectionChairLee Rashkinl.rashkin.2014@ieee.org
Ft. Huachuca SectionChairJohn DeLallajd@arizona.edu
LANNM SectionChairJohn Greenhalljgreenhall@lanl.gov
LANNM SectionVice-ChairKimberley E Nicholsnichols.kimberley@gmail.com
Las Vegas SectionChairMark Damronmdamron@yahoo.com
Phoenix SectionChairHeather D Moniganhmonigan@GMAIL.COM
San Diego SectionChairMichelle Thompsonw5nyv@yahoo.com
Tucson SectionChairJoseph Wujoewu@ieee.org
25-May-24

Meetings

2024 Region 6 Meetings

EventDateLocation
Conferences
IEEE Rising StarsJan. 5-7Las Vegas
SusTech 2024April 14-17, 2024Portland, OR (remote option)
IEEE Awards Gala May 5, 2024Boston, MA
GHTC 2024 October 23-26, 2024Villanova University, PA
Region Meetings
Region Opcom15-17 MarchSeattle (SEA), WA
R6 ExcomMay 31-June 1TBD
Spring Area Meetings
SW AreaApril 13San Diego - https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/409468
Joint NE and NW AreaMay 18Virtual
https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/419922
Southern Area May 11https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/409922

18021 Cowan Dr.
Irvine, California
Central AreaMay 25https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/418251

University of Nevada Reno at Lake Tahoe
999 Tahoe Blvd
Incline Village, Nevada

Fall Area Meetings
SW and Southern AreaTBA
NE Area and NW AreaTBA
Central AreaTBA
IEEE Board SeriesFeb. 14-29Orlando, FL
IEEE Board SeriesJune 19-24Toronto, Canada
IEEE Board SeriesNov. 20-25Dallas, TX
01-Apr-24

Region 6 Directors History

Region 6 Directors
DateName
1963Daniel E. Noble/1964 Bruce S. Angwin
1965Bruce S. Angwin
1967Stanley F. Kaisel
1969L. C. Hedrick
1971John J. Guarrera
1973Einar E. Ingebretsen
1975Carleton A. Bayless
1977John W. Thatcher
1979Charles A. Eldon (Bud)
1981Frederick G. Suffield
1983Ralph A. Lamm
1985Jane G. Evans
1987Richard L. Doyle
1989Allen R. Stubberud
1991Jerry C. Aukland
1993Chester C. Taylor
1995William E. Murray
1997John B. Damonte
1999W. Cleon Anderson
2001Lawrence M. Hamerman
2003Evelyn H. Hirt
2005Robert L. Baldwin
2007Loretta J. Arellano
2009Leonard J. Bond
2011Edward G. Perkins
2013Michael R. Andrews
2015Thomas (Tom) Coughlin
2017Kathleen Kramer
2019Keith Moore
2021Tim Lee
2023Kathy Herring Hayashi

 

Follow Us

Find Announcements

Past Announcements

Local Events

Region Meetings