Home » About Us » Region 6 Officers

Region 6 Officers

Region 6 Officers and activity contacts:

R6 Excom and ActivityChairs

Region Executive Committee 2019
PositionNameContact
DirectorKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
Director–ElectTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorKathleen Kramerk.kramer@ieee.org
TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
SecretaryRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairPeijung Tsaiptsai2002@yahoo.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairRavender LalRavendar.Bhojwani@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairAmber Orraorr@popud.org
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeJoe Sandovaljgsandov@calpoly.edu
Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators
PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior MembershipVasudeva Atlurivpatluri@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionLoretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
ConferencesCharlie jacksoncornetto45@earthlink.net
Educational ActivitiesMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Electronic Communications CoordintorMatt Smithmatthew.smith.r@ieee.org
Finance TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
Government Relations ChairSkyler nixskylernix@email.arizona.edu
History Chair & Milestones CoordinatorBrian Bergbrianberg@gmail.com
Humanitarian ActivitiesNiru Prakash Kumarnirupamapk78@gmail.com
Industry EngagementChair: Joe Decuirjdecuir@ieee.org
VC: Yilka Masadakmyllka@yahoo.com
Membership DevelopmentChair: Abdur Rehmanramsivaraman@ieee.org
Committee: Ram Sivaramana.r.rehman@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE)VC: Alberto Tam Youngatamy001@ucr.edu
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Chad KidderChad Kidder
OU AnalyticsChris Gunningc.gunning@ieee.org
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorElizabeth Johnstonlise.johnston@ieee.org
Strategic PlanningTim Leett.lee@ieee.org
SPA-X Coordinator (PACE Students)Paulo Vasconcelospaulo.vasconcelos@ieee.org
TrainingChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
Region Life Member CoordinatorJohn Kroonjohnkroon@earthlink.net
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorKathy Herring-Hayashikathyhh@gmail.com 
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
YP-Students CoordinatorAlberto Tam Youngatamy001@ucr.edu
Conference Chair, 2020 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS19)Anis Ben Arfianis.b.arfi@gmail.com
Conference Chair, 2019 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2018)Paul Cunninghampaul@iimg.com
Conference Chair, 2019 IEEE Sustain (Sustech2018)Suveda Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Region 6 Committees
Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator
Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees
IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach CommitteeR6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Mermbership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young ProfessionalsR6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)
IEEE-USA CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional AwarenessR6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&DR6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
updated 15-Jan-19

2018 R6 Areas and Section Chairs

Region 6 Areas: there are 5 geographical areas:for the Western USA: Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Co-ChairDhaval Brahmbhattdhaval@phychip.net
Area SACRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Hawaii SectionChairKishore Erukulapatiekishore@gmail.com
Northern Nevada SectionChairMehmet Gunesmgunes@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairKrishneel Kishorkrishneel@ieee.org
Sacramento Valley SectionChairSuresh K Vadhvavadhva@csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairCharles Meecqm@cpuc.ca.gov
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairJoseph Weijoseph.wei@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairWeilian Suweilian@nps.edu
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairGeorge Puffettgeorge.puffett@gmail.com
Northeast (NE) AreaChairPeijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Vice-ChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairHao Chenhaochen@boisestate.edu
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairRob C Maherrob.maher@montana.edu
Eastern Idaho SectionChairHope Forsmann
hope.forsmann@inl.gov
Eastern Montana SectionChairKristopher Kenneykristopher.kenney@hdrinc.com
Utah SectionChairChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairWilliam Schubertwilliam.schubert@northwestern.com
Northwest (NW) AreaChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Vice ChairRavendar Lalravendar.bhojwani@gmail.com
Area SACCharles Mayercemayer@alaska.edu
Alaska SectionChairJohn Gordon Owensjgo@gci.net
V ChairNolan WillisWillisNJ@CI.ANCHORAGE.AK.US
Central Washington SectionChairRandall C Grovesr.groves@ieee.org
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionChairTBA
Oregon SectionChairTugrul Daimtugrul.u.daim@pdx.edu
Palouse SectionChairBrian Johnsonb.k.johnson@ieee.org
Richland SectionChairWarnick Kernanwarnick.kernan@pnnl.gov
Seattle SectionChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Spokane SectionChairAmber Orraorr@popud.org
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice ChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Area SACWalter Iuwalteriu@ieee.org
Buenaventura SectionChairNathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Central Coast SectionChairRuth Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairOctavio EscobedoOctavio.Escobedo.US@ieee.org
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairMike Briggsbriggs@ee.ucla.edu
Foothill SectionChairDavid Gonzalezdavidgonzalez@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairCharles Caicharles.cai@sbcglobal.net
Orange County SectionChairRaja Khabbazraja.khabbaz.us@ieee.org
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Southern California Council
ChairBrian Hagerty
brian.hagerty.us@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Vice ChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Area ExcomSarge Benson
Alamogordo-Holloman SectionChairCleon H Barkercleon@tularosa.net
Albuquerque SectionChairJason Neelyjneely@sandia.gov
Fort Huachuca SectionChairJim Richmannrichmann@acm.org
Las Vegas SectionChairMark Damronmdamron@yahoo.com
Los Alamos/Northern New Mexico SectionChairHeather Quinnhquinn@lanl.gov
Phoenix SectionChairSurinder Tulisurinder.tuli@gmail.com
San Diego SectionChairGabriel Alcalagalcala@atecorp.com
Tucson SectionChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
updated 28-Aug-18

Region Meetings 2018

EventDateLocation
Region Conferences
Rising Stars 2018January 6-8, 2018Las Vegas
GHTC 2018Oct 18-20, 2018San Jose
SusTech 2018Nov 11-13, 2018Long Beach, CA
Region Meetings
SFBAC Training27-Jan-18Mountain View, CA
OpcomFeb 2-4, 2018 @ SFO
Strategic Planning2-Jun-18Reno/Lake Tahoe
Excom3-Nov-18San Diego
Spring Area Meetings for Volunteers
NE Area10-Mar-18Butte MT
Southern Area7-Apr-18UC Irvine
SW Area14-Apr-18Phoenix
Central Area21-Apr-18 SJSU, San Jose
NW Area28-Apr-18Seattle Airport
Fall Area Meetings for Volunteers
NW Area6-Oct-18Spokane?
NE Area13-Oct-18TBD (SLC?)
Central Area20-Oct-18SCV
SW Area27-Oct-18ALB
Southern Area10-Nov-18LA

 

Upcoming Local Events

Thu 17

ExCom – January 2019

January 17 @ 1:30 am - 3:00 am
Thu 17

Monthly San Diego IEEE EXCOM

January 17 @ 2:00 am - 5:00 am
Thu 17

PERSPECTIVES ON CLIMATE CHANGE AND ENERGY

January 17 @ 8:00 pm - January 18 @ 10:30 pm

Upcoming Region Volunteer Meetings

Fri 25

IEEE Region 6/4 OpCom Meeting in Phoenix

January 25 @ 7:00 pm - January 27 @ 6:00 pm
Fri 25

Region 6 OPCOM

January 25 @ 7:00 pm - January 27 @ 7:30 pm
Mar 23

Southern Area Meeting

March 23 @ 3:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mar 23

IEEE Region 6, Southern Area Meeting

March 23 @ 3:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mar 30

Latest News

Find Announcements