Home » About Us » Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Quick index:
Areas and Sections
Region Meetings

Region Executive Committee 2019

PositionNameContact
DirectorKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
Director–ElectTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorKathleen Kramerk.kramer@ieee.org
TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
SecretaryRichard Morsermorse@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairPeijung Tsaiptsai2002@yahoo.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairAmber Orraorr@ieee.org
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeJoe Sandovaljgsandov@calpoly.edu

Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators

PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior MembershipVasudeva Atlurivpatluri@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionLoretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
ConferencesCharlie Jacksoncornetto45@earthlink.net
Educational ActivitiesMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Electronic Communications CoordintorMatt Smithmatthew.smith.r@ieee.org
Finance TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
Government Relations ChairSkyler Nixskylernix@email.arizona.edu
GR Past ChairSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
History Chair & Milestones CoordinatorBrian Bergbrianberg@gmail.com
Humanitarian ActivitiesNiru Prakash Kumarnirupamapk78@gmail.com
Industry EngagementChair: Joe Decuirjdecuir@ieee.org
VC: Yilka Masadakmyllka@yahoo.com
Membership DevelopmentChair: Abdur Rehmana.r.rehman@ieee.org
Committee: Ram Sivaramanramsivaraman@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE)Chair: Amber Orraorr@ieee.org
VC: Alberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Chad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
OU AnalyticsChris Gunningc.gunning@ieee.org
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorElizabeth Johnstonlise.johnston@ieee.org
Strategic PlanningTim Leett.lee@ieee.org
SPA-X Coordinator (PACE Students)Alberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
TrainingChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
WebmasterEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Affinity groups
Region Life Member CoordinatorJohn Kroonjohnkroon@earthlink.net
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorKathy Herring-Hayashikathyhh@gmail.com 
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
YP-Students CoordinatorAlberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
Conferences
Conference Chair, 2020 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS19)Anis Ben Arfianis.b.arfi@gmail.com
Conference Chair, 2019 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2019)Paul Cunninghampaul@iimg.com
Conference Chair, 2020 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Sustainability (SusTech2020)Charlie Jacksoncornetto45@earthlink.net

Region 6 Committees

Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator

Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees

IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach CommitteeR6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Membership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young ProfessionalsR6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)

Region 6 Representatives on IEEE-USA Committees

PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional AwarenessR6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&DR6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA CCP Committee Sheree Wenswen@ieee.org
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
updated 30-Jul-19

OpCom

2019 R6 Areas and Section Chairs

Region 6 Areas: there are 5 geographical areas for the Western USA:
Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Co-ChairDhaval Brahmbhattdhaval@phychip.net
Area SACRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Hawaii SectionChairKishore Erukulapatiekishore@gmail.com
Northern Nevada SectionChairMehmet Gunesmgunes@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairKrishneel Kishorkrishneel@ieee.org
Sacramento Valley SectionChairSuresh K Vadhvavadhva@csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairCharles Meecqm@cpuc.ca.gov
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairGlenn Friedmangxtec@aol.com
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairWeilian Suweilian@nps.edu
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairEd Aokie.aoki@ieee.org
Northeast (NE) AreaChairPeijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Vice-ChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairHao Chenhaochen@boisestate.edu
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairRob C Maherrob.maher@montana.edu
Eastern Idaho SectionChairHope Forsmann
hope.forsmann@inl.gov
Eastern Montana SectionChairKristopher Kenneykristopher.kenney@hdrinc.com
Utah SectionChairChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairWilliam Schubertwilliam.schubert@northwestern.com
Northwest (NW) AreaChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Vice Chair
Area SACCharles Mayercemayer@alaska.edu
Alaska SectionChairBob Seitzakchair@ieee.org
V ChairNolan WillisWillisNJ@CI.ANCHORAGE.AK.US
Central Washington SectionChairRandall C Grovesr.groves@ieee.org
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionChairTBA
Oregon SectionChairPaulo Vasconcelospaulo.vasconcelos@ieee.org
Palouse SectionChairKrishnanjan Ravikumarkrishnanjan_gubba_ravikumar@selinc.com
Richland SectionChairWarnick Kernanwarnick.kernan@pnnl.gov
Seattle SectionChairHarold Javidharold.javid@computer.org
Spokane SectionChairAmber Orraorr@popud.org
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice ChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Area SAC
Buenaventura SectionChairNathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Central Coast SectionChairRuth Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairOctavio EscobedoOctavio.Escobedo.US@ieee.org
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairAleksandar Babicaleksandar.babic@ieee.org
Foothill SectionChairDavid Gonzalezdavidgonzalez@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairMalak Shirkhanimalak.shirkhani@sce.com
Orange County SectionChairRaja Khabbazraja.khabbaz.us@ieee.org
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Southern California Council
ChairBrian Hagerty
brian.hagerty.us@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Vice ChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Area ExcomSarge Benson
Alamogordo-Holloman SectionChairCleon H Barkercleon@tularosa.net
Albuquerque SectionChairJason Neelyjneely@sandia.gov
Fort Huachuca SectionChairJim Richmannrichmann@acm.org
Las Vegas SectionChairMark Damronmdamron@yahoo.com
Los Alamos/Northern New Mexico SectionChairHeather Quinnhquinn@lanl.gov
Phoenix SectionChairSurinder Tulisurinder.tuli@gmail.com
San Diego SectionChairGabriel Alcalagalcala@atecorp.com
Tucson SectionChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
updated 13-Nov-19

Meetings

2019 Region 6 Meetings

EventDateLocation    
Conferences
IEEE Rising Stars4-JanLas Vegas
WIE-ILC23-MayAustin
YP in PNWJuly 12Seattle
SusTechApril 23-25, 2020Southern California
GHTCOct. 17-20Seattle
Region Meetings
Region Opcom25-JanPhoenix
R6 Strategic Planning8-JunRichland
R6 Excom2-NovTucson
Spring Area Meetings
SoArea23-MarLos Angeles
NWArea30-MarPortland
NEArea6-AprIdaho Falls
CEArea13-AprCSU-Sacramento
SWArea13-AprSDSU
Fall Area Meetings
SW Area5-OctTucson, UA ECE
Central Area12-OctSan Francisco State U
NEArea12-OctBoise
NW Area18-Oct & 19-OctSeattle
18-Oct - tour
19-Oct - meeting
Southern Area26-OctUCLA
29-Aug-19

 

Upcoming Local Events

Thu 21

IEEE at UC Davis and Keysight Info Session

November 21 @ 1:00 am - 3:00 am
Thu 21

IEEE Central Coast Event – 20 Nov 2019 @ 6PM

November 21 @ 2:00 am - 4:30 am
Thu 21

Autonomous Micromobility

November 21 @ 2:00 am - 5:00 am
Thu 21

5G From an Optical Perspective

November 21 @ 2:00 am - 4:00 am

Find Announcements

Past Announcements