Home » About Us » Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Region 6 Officers and Activity Contacts

Quick index:
Areas and Sections
Region Meetings
Past Directors

Region Executive Committee 2021

PositionNameContact
DirectorTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Director-ElectKathy Hayashikathyh@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
SecretaryRichard Morsermorse@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairRichard Morsermorse@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairAmber Orraorr@ieee.org
Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeJared Whitejaredwhite547@u.boisestate.edu
Student Professional Awareness Coordinator (SPA-X)Peijung Tsaitsai2002@yahoo.com

Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators

PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior MembershipVasudeva Atlurivpatluri@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionSurinder Tulisurinder.tuli@gmail.com
ConferencesCharlie Jacksoncornetto45@earthlink.net
Educational ActivitiesMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Electronic Communications CoordintorMatt Smithmatthew.smith.r@ieee.org
Employment & Career Services CoordinatorUpkar Singh Dhaliwalupkar@ieee.org
Finance TreasurerSarge Bensonsarge.benson@lvvwd.com
Government Activities ChairSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
GR Past ChairSkyler Nixskylernix@email.arizona.edu
History ChairBrian Bergb.berg@ieee.org
Humanitarian ActivitiesNiru Prakash Kumarnirupamapk78@gmail.com
Industry EngagementDejan Milojicicdejan.milojicic@hpe.com
Information Management CoordinatorTaylor Winshiptaylor.winship@ieee.org
Membership DevelopmentRam Sivaramanramsivaraman@ieee.org
a.r.rehman@ieee.org
Past Chair: Abdur Rehmana.r.rehman@ieee.org
Milestones CoordinatorBrian Bergb.berg@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE)Chair: Amber Orraorr@ieee.org
VC: Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Chad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
OU AnalyticsChris Gunningc.gunning@ieee.org
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorElizabeth Johnstonlise.johnston@ieee.org
Strategic PlanningKathy Hayashikathyh@ieee.org
TrainingChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
WebmasterEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Affinity groups
Region Life Member CoordinatorMike Andrewsm.andrews@ieee.org
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorHeather Quinnhquinn@lanl.gov
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorAlberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
Ramesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Ravendar Lalravendar.bhojwani@gmail.com
YP-Students CoordinatorAlberto Tam Yongalberto.tamyong.us@ieee.org
Conferences
Conference Chair, 2021 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS21)Skyler Nixskylernix@email.arizona.edu
Conference Chair, 2021 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2021)TBD
Conference Chair, 2021 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Sustainability (SusTech2021)Gora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org

Region 6 Committees

Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator

Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees

IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach CommitteeR6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Membership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young ProfessionalsR6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)

Region 6 Representatives on IEEE-USA Committees

PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional AwarenessR6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&DR6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA CCP CommitteeSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
updated 28-Apr-21

OpCom

2021 Region 6 Areas and Section Chairs

Region 6 Areas: there are 5 geographical areas for the Western USA:
Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Co-ChairDhaval Brahmbhattdhaval@phychip.net
Area SACRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Hawaii SectionChairSteven Minakamismina002@fiu.edu
Northern Nevada SectionChairMohammed Atea Ahmad Ben-Idrimbenidris@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairAaron Linaaron.lin.us@ieee.org
Sacramento Valley SectionChairMahyar Zarghamimahyar.zarghami@csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairCharmayne Hughescmhughes13@gmail.com
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairTaylor Winshiptaylor.winship@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairMarcelo Sierosiero@ideassiero.com
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairBill DeHopedehope1@llnl.gov
Northeast (NE) AreaChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Vice-Chair
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairR K Rannowpi-boson@ieee.org
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairMaryam Bahramipanahmaryam.bahramipanah@montana.edu
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)V ChairBradley Michael Whitakerbradley.whitaker1@montana.edu
Eastern Idaho SectionChairJames A Smithjsmith.prodev@gmail.com
Eastern Montana SectionChairBryant Myron Beckbryantbeck24@gmail.com
Utah SectionChairDaniel N Donahoedan@1000kilometers.com
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairBrian A Smythsmythyone@hotmail.com
Western Montana Section (Butte)V ChairKevin J Neguskevin@tctwest.net
Northwest (NW) AreaChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Vice Chair
Area SACTBA
Alaska SectionChairNolan James Willisnolanwillis88@gmail.com
V ChairRobert PosmaRobertPosma@pdceng.com
Central Washington SectionChairLouis J Szablyalszablya@gmail.com
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionSecSteven A Estesieee@steveest.es
Oregon SectionChairJohn Prohodskyj.prohodsky@ieee.org
V ChairJustin WagnerJustin.Wagner@MillerNash.com
Palouse SectionChairStephen J Szablyasteve.szablya@gmail.com
Richland SectionChairLeo Fifieldl.s.fifield@ieee.org
Seattle SectionChairJoseph Williamsjoseph.williams@pnnl.gov
Spokane SectionChairSarah KoeffSara.Koeff@avistacorp.com
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice ChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Area SAC
Buenaventura SectionChairMomin Quddusmominq7@yahoo.com
Central Coast SectionChairRuth E Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairThomas Joseph Hendersontomhenderson123@att.net
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionV ChairWesley E Winklerwewinkler@yahoo.com
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairAleksandar Babicaleksandar.babic@ieee.org
Foothill SectionChairMax Cherubinm.c.us@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairYvonne C Marchandymarcha21@gmail.com
Orange County SectionChairIrvin Huangirvinbhuang@gmail.com
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Southern California Council
ChairGora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Vice Chair
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Area ExcomSarge Benson
Alamagordo-HollomanChairCleon H Barkercleon@tularosa.net
Albuquerque SectionChairLee Rashkinl.rashkin.2014@ieee.org
Ft. Huachuca SectionChairJohn DeLallajd@arizona.edu
LANNM SectionChairHanna Makarukhanna_m@lanl.gov
LANNM SectionVice-ChairKimberley E Nicholsnichols.kimberley@gmail.com
Las Vegas SectionChairMark Damronmdamron@yahoo.com
Phoenix SectionChairBharat Penmechabharat.penmecha@ieee.org
Phoenix SectionVice-ChairHeather D Moniganhmonigan@gmail.com
San Diego SectionChairZhensheng Zhangzhenshengz@gmail.com
Tucson SectionChairJoeseph Wujoewu@ieee.org
14-Aug-21

Meetings

2021 Region 6 Meetings

EventDateLocation
Conferences
IEEE Rising StarsJan. 2-4Las Vegas
SusTechApril 22-24, 2021Southern California
GHTCOctober 19-22Virtual (Seattle)
Region Meetings
Region Opcom29-20 JanuaryVirtual
R6 ExcomTBAVirtual
Spring Area Meetings
NE Area10-JulyVirtual
SW Area10-JulyVirtual
Central Area10-JulyVirtual
Southern Area10-JulyVirtual
NW Area10-JulyVirtual
Fall Area Meetings
SW Area18-SeptemberVirtual
NE Area18-SeptemberVirtual
NW Area18-SeptemberVirtual
Central Area18-SeptemberVirtual
Southern Area18-SeptemberVirtual
IEEE Board SeriesFeb. 17-22VIRTUAL
IEEE Board SeriesJune 23-28VIRTUAL
IEEE Board SeriesNov. 17-22VIRTUAL
18-Sep-21

Past Directors

Past Region 6 Directors
DateName
1963Daniel E. Noble/1964 Bruce S. Angwin
1965Bruce S. Angwin
1967Stanley F. Kaisel
1969L. C. Hedrick
1971John J. Guarrera
1973Einar E. Ingebretsen
1975Carleton A. Bayless
1977John W. Thatcher
1979Charles A. Eldon (Bud)
1981Frederick G. Suffield
1983Ralph A. Lamm
1985Jane G. Evans
1987Richard L. Doyle
1989Allen R. Stubberud
1991Jerry C. Aukland
1993Chester C. Taylor
1995William E. Murray
1997John B. Damonte
1999W. Cleon Anderson
2001Lawrence M. Hamerman
2003Evelyn H. Hirt
2005Robert L. Baldwin
2007Loretta J. Arellano
2009Leonard J. Bond
2011Edward G. Perkins
2013Michael R. Andrews
2015Thomas (Tom) Coughlin
2017Kathleen Kramer
2019Keith Moore

 

Follow Us

Upcoming Region & Volunteer Meetings

Nov 03

EVO 2.0 Conference

November 3 @ 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Nov 10

Find Announcements

Past Announcements