Home » News and posts » 2017 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

Brian Berg
The Savioke Relay robot makes a delivery to event organizer and IEEE Region 6 Milestone Coordinator Brian Berg. Photo by Douglas Fairbairn Photography.

Region 6 awards recipients for 2017

by Jeffrey Pawlan, Awards Chair

Outstanding Engineer award
Sudhakar K. Rao

For engineering innovations, technical leadership, product development, and original contributions to advanced antenna hardware that led to introduction of new satellite services with significant increase in satellite capacity

Outstanding Corporate Service award
Electric Power Group

For outstanding support to IEEE, its members, and the power and energy industry

Outstanding Small Section Award
Spokane Section

For being the most active and best organized Small Section in Region 6

Outstanding Educator Award
Elisa Barney Smith

For contributions to the field of education in the Boise Section which have had a profound impact on numerous students across the globe

Outstanding Leadership and Service Award
Brian Berg

For his leadership of the Consultants’ Network of Silicon Valley, his long service and leadership of the Santa Clara Valley Section, his work on the Region 6 Metro Area Workshop, and as Region 6 Milestone Coordinator

Outstanding Large Student Branch award
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

For the dedication and efforts of the Cal Poly Pomona Student Branch in the technical, professional, and social development of its members

Outstanding Small Student Branch award
California State University San Bernardino

For their multi-year efforts in starting with a small nucleus of IEEE students and expanding their visibility and program effectiveness to all the engineering and computer science students

Outstanding Chapter award
Power Electronics Society Chapter of the SF Bay Area

For unyielding commitment to the advancement of power electronics, supporting educational initiatives, increased  value to membership, and serving as an example to all in driving IEEE’s Mission Statement for the benefit of humanity

Outstanding Contributor to STEM and Education award
Lee Colby

For more than a decade of STEM and K – 12 education support by providing materials and personal visits to schools and the Maker Faire<

Outstanding WIE Chapter award

WIE Chapter of Santa Clara Valley
For outstanding activities and contributions promoting Women in Engineering

Outstanding Life Member Affinity Group award
Buenaventura LMAG

For outstanding service to the engineering community by sponsoring an entrepreneurial workshop series specifically for engineers that has engaged members and others to learn about the many facets of entrepreneurship

Outstanding Individual in WIE award
Lesley Anne Polka

For outstanding support and mentoring of women in engineering and serving as a role model for girls to pursue STEM careers

Outstanding Global Humanitarian award
Catherine Blackadar Nelson

For demonstrating leadership of a successful IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference and for her  contributions and participation in Humanitarian Activities at the Corporate, Governmental, and NGO levels

Outstanding Membership Development award
Krishna Verma

For outstanding service to the Santa Clara Section in  various positions, especially inspiring IEEE members to become Senior Members and take greater responsibilities in IEEE activities

About the author

Ed Perkins

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Follow Us

Find Announcements

Past Announcements

Local Events

Region Meetings