Home » News and posts » IEEE Fellows 2022 Announced
Announcements IEEE News

IEEE Fellows 2022 Announced

IEEE has released the list of elevated Fellows for 2022.

Forty-three members of R6 -Western USA were elevated.

Below is the list by Section. The complete list of Fellows (PDF) can be found here.

Albuquerque Section

  • R Scott Erwin

for leadership and contributions to the development, implementation and on-orbit demonstration of spacecraft control technologies

Central Coast Section

  • Igor Mezic

for contributions to modeling and control using Koopman operator techniques

  • James Buckwalter

for contributions to high-efficiency millimeter-wave power amplifiers and optical transceivers in SOI technologies

  • Timothy Sherwood

for contributions to computer system security and performance analysis

Coastal Los Angeles Section

  • Krishna Nayak

for contributions to real-time magnetic resonance imaging of the human heart and vocal tract airway

  • Mikhail Vaiman

for contributions to methods and software for real-time analysis and control of electric power systems

  • Puneet Gupta

for contributions to the design and co-optimization of integrated circuits

Metropolitan Los Angeles Section

  • Jianhua Yang

for contributions to resistive switching materials in memory and neuromorphic computing

  • Murali Annavaram

for contributions to heterogeneous architectures for energy-efficient computing systems

  • Nacer Chahat

for development of CubeSat and Spacecraft antennas for inter-planetary missions

Monterey Bay Subsection

  • Frank Van Diggelen

for contributions to assisted global navigation satellite systems for consumer applications

  • Ricardo Sanfelice

for contributions to hybrid feedback control systems

Oakland-East Bay Section

  • Anirban Bandyopadhyay

for leadership in silicon RF-SOI technologies

  • Mahesh Iyer

for leadership in ASIC and FPGA Electronic Design Automation

  • Sarah Kurtz

for contributions to photovoltaic devices and systems reliability

Orange County Section

  • Sorel Reisman

for leadership in design, implementation and adoption of open education resources

Oregon Section

  • Xiaoning Ye

for contributions to high-speed interconnect design, optimization, and measurement methods

Phoenix Section

  • Kemal Aygun

for contributions to high-bandwidth and high-speed packaging and socket technologies

  • Rajapandian Ayyanar

for contributions to power conversion and grid integration of renewable resources

Sacramento Valley Section

  • Anh-vu Pham


  • David Horsley

for development of micro-electromechanical systems for ultrasonic transduction

San Diego Section

  • Massimiliano Di Ventra

for contributions to quantum transport in nanoscale systems and in-memory computing

  • Todd Coleman

for contributions to biomedical signal processing and leadership in neuro-engineering

San Fernando Valley Section

  • Daniel Tazartes

for contributions to inertial sensors and navigation systems

Santa Clara Valley Section

  • Andrew Wolfe

for contributions in hardware code compression of embedded software power consumption analysis and optimization

  • Chee-yee Chong

for contributions to information fusion methods for multi-sensor tracking

  • Cullen Bash

for contributions to improving the sustainability and energy efficiency of data center infrastructure

  • Daniel Abramovitch

for contributions to the development of algorithms for control of mechatronic systems

  • Debargha Mukherjee

for leadership in standard development for video-streaming industry

  • Eric Pop

for contributions to phase-change memory

  • Haisheng Rong

for contributions to silicon photonics devices

  • Isaac Nassi

for leadership in parallel and distributed systems and adaptive systems

  • Jiang Zhu

for contributions to antenna design for wireless communications

  • Narayan Srinivasa

for contributions to neural network and neuromorphic computing architectures, circuits and algorithms

  • Shan Liu

for leadership in multimedia and multicore processors

  • Sujata Banerjee

for leadership in programmable and energy efficient networks

  • Tony Heinz

for contributions to spectroscopic techniques, nanophotonics, and optical nanomaterials

  • Zhiping Yang

for contributions to signal and power integrity in high-performance data center electronics

Seattle Section

  • Behcet Acikmese

for contributions to optimization-based nonlinear control and to planetary landing systems

  • Chuanxiong Guo

for contributions to design of data center networking

  • Guojun Qi

for contributions to multimedia analysis and applications

Utah Section

  • Feifei Li

for contributions to database query processing and optimization, and to cloud database systems

  • Florian Solzbacher

for the development of tools enabling applied and translational neuroscience and neural engineering



Follow Us

Upcoming Local Events

Feb 02
Feb 02
Feb 02

Rising Stars 2022 Student Presentations

February 2 @ 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Feb 05

Practical Open Source Engineering

February 5 @ 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Upcoming Region & Volunteer Meetings

Feb 05

Region 6 Director-Elect Nominee Q&A Session

February 5 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Feb 10

Job Search Strategies for 2022

February 10 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Feb 23
Feb 25

Region 4 & 6 Operating Committee Meeting (Opcomm)

February 25 @ 2:00 pm - February 27 @ 2:00 pm

Find Announcements

Past Announcements