Home » News and posts » R6 2018 Awards Ceremony
Awards R6 Actvities

R6 2018 Awards Ceremony

The Region 6 2018 Awards were presented at the 2019 OpCom Meeting held on Jan. 25-27 in Tempe, AZ.

Region 6 Organizational Awards

  • Region 6 Large Section of the Year – IEEE Phoenix Section “To recognize the Phoenix section for its successful programs”
  • Region 6 Small Student Branch – Phoenix DeVry University “Best Small Student Branch for 2018”
  • Region 6 Large Student Branch – Cal State Long Beach “For recruiting and inspiring the newest generation of electrical engineering students through exciting technical programs”
  • Region 6 Outstanding Chapter of the Year  – IEEE Phoenix Section Computer Society Chapter “For Outstanding service to the Computer Community by sponsoring lectures that engage people in Technology”

Region 6 Individual Awards

  • Region 6 Outstanding IEEE member who promoted women in engineering – Professor Lina Karam “For Continuing Leadership in promoting WIE both within the Phoenix Section and Internationally”
  • Region 6 Outstanding IEEE member who promoted Life Member activities – Dr. Peter Shackle “For  connecting Life Member Affinity Group services to chapters and the community”
  • Region 6 Outstanding IEEE member who promoted Membership Development or Senior Member Elevation – Ralph Ramond Hogan “For Outstanding Contributions to IEEE Phoenix Section and IEEE Region 6 Membership Development”
  • Region 6 Outstanding IEEE member who made contributions to STEM and Education as a Mentor, Assistant, or Facilitator – Dr. Anna Prakash “Outstanding Contributions to STEM and Education of Children in Need as a Leader, Innovator, and Mentor”
  • Region 6 Outstanding Educator – Professor Andreas Spanias
  • Region 6 Outstanding K-12 Educator who made significant contributions to STEM Education – Dr. Michael and Dr. Olga Block “For Outstanding Contributions to K through 12 Education”
  • Region 6 Outstanding Young Professional – Ahmed Douik
  • Region 6 Outstanding Service and Leadership to the IEEE – Chris Gunning – “For volunteering and leading with a profound impact across a breadth of levels and positions”
  • Region 6 Outstanding Engineer – Dr. Goutam Chattopadhyay “For contributions to advanced instruments at Terahertz frequencies for Space applications”

Region 6 Company Awards

  • Region 6 Outstanding Corporation – ON Semiconductor “In recognition of Outstanding Corporate Service to the Engineering Community”

Region 6 Special Director’s Awards

Presented by the Region 6 Director to acknowledge significant contributions in support of Region 6 and IEEE Activities.

  • Kathy Herring Hayashi – “For Outstanding and Innovative Leadership of Activities to Advance Technology for Humanity that Lead and Inspire the Next Generation of IEEE Region 6”
  • Abdur Rehman – “For Outstanding and Innovative Leadership Transforming and Leading Activities for Members of IEEE Region 6”
  • Scott Tamashiro – “For Outstanding and Innovative Leadership that Focuses on the Future of IEEE Region 6 Including Onsite Support for Over 100 IEEE Region 6 Activities in 2017-2018.”
  • Taylor Winship – “For Outstanding and Innovative Leadership Contributions to Local Activities in IEEE Region 6”

Region 6 Special Awards

  • Sevada Isayan, 2018 IEEE SusTech Conference Chair – “For leadership of the 2018 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Sustainability
  • Edward Perkins, 2019 IEEE GHTC Conference Chair – “For leadership of the 2019 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference”
  • Ramesh Nair, 2019 IEEE Rising Stars Conference Chair – “For leadership of the 2019 IEEE Rising Stars Conference”

Follow Us

Find Announcements

Past Announcements

Local Events

Region Meetings