Home » News and posts » Webinar “Our Changing Oceans” part of “Blue Marvel – Ocean Mysteries”
Announcements IEEE News Webinar

Webinar “Our Changing Oceans” part of “Blue Marvel – Ocean Mysteries”

In a collaboration of the US National Science Foundation, the IEEE and the Group on Earth Observations, the NSF-funded Ocean Research Collaboration Network is proud to announce the next webinar in the series “Blue Marvel – Ocean Mysteries” will be “Our Changing Oceans” by Dr. Margaret Leinen.  Mark your calendars for February 18 at 15:00 UTC (7AM PST and 16:00 CET). For more information and access to the webinar, go to www.oceanmysteries.net.

Whether it is food, disease, climate change or recreation, oceans affect us directly and indirectly, but we know so little about our oceans: where does heat go in the ocean; what chemicals are trapped in sea water; how can we survive in this medium that is hostile to human life?

The series looks at the mysteries of the ocean – the Blue Marvel – and how a broad spectrum of scientists, from engineers to chemists, microbiologists to archaeologists play a vital role in finding the answers.

The webinar series continues on a monthly basis  except December with presentations from leaders in ocean exploration and research. There is no charge for the webinar.

The fourth Webinar in the series will be on “Our Changing Oceans” by Dr. Margaret Leinen.  Dr. Leinen’s background as a geologist and oceanographer combined to focus her research on changes in the ocean over time and their relationship to climate.  She recently chaired a national conference on Our Changing Oceans in Washington DC.  She will discuss changes in the Arctic, in fisheries, in sea level, and changes leading to acidification of the oceans.  She will also talk about the ways that oceanographers are contributing to our understanding of these changes and to our ability to adapt to them.

Dr. Leinen is Associate Provost of Marine and Environmental Initiatives and Executive Director of the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute, a unit of FAU located in Fort Pierce. Her research interests include pale oceanography, paleoclimatology, biogeochemical cycles, climate change and climate engineering. She has a BS, geology, University of Illinois (1969); MS, oceanography, Oregon State University (1975); PhD, oceanography, University of Rhode Island (1980). She has contributed to ocean science in many ways including as NSF assistant director for geosciences and coordinator of environmental research and education programs (2000-2007), Chief science officer Climos, Inc. (2007–2009) and with the CEO Climate Response Fund (2009 to present).  She is a Fellow of the AAAS and a Fellow of the Geological Society of America.

We welcome you to join us for the webinar on February 18 at 15:00 UTC (10AM EST and 16:00 CET). For more information and access to the webinar, go to www.oceanmysteries.net

Follow Us

Upcoming Local Events

Sat 24

Beers With Engineers

October 24 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue 27

AI and IoT in Rail Roads

October 27 @ 7:00 pm - 7:40 pm
Wed 28

WASHINGTON WATER POWER: THE WHITE-WATER YEARS

October 28 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Latest News

Find Announcements

Past Announcements