IEEE Region 6 - Western US
IEEE
Region 6 Information

Region 6 Information

Region 6 Officers and activity contacts:

region6areas

Officers Spreadsheets:

2017 Excom Activity Chairs.xlsx
2017 Section Chairs Area.xlsx

Region Executive Committee  
PositionNameContact
DirectorKathleen Kramerk.kramer@ieee.org
Director–Elect (and Region Vice-Chair)Keith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorTom Coughlintom@tomcoughlin.com
TreasurerScott Tamashirotamashiro@ieee.org
SecretaryJoe Decuirjdecuir@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairTim Worboystimothy.worboys@gmail.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairChris Gunningcgunning@ieee.org
Northwest (NW) Area ChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Government Relations ChairSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeTony Wong ustonywkk@gmail.com
Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators
PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior Membership Russell Kinnerr.kinner@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionJeffrey Pawlanpawlan@ieee.org
ConferencesMichael Andrewsm.andrews@ieee.org
Educational Activities Elisa Barney Smithebarneysmith@boisestate.edu
Electronic Communications CoordintorLance McBridelance_mcbride@yahoo.com
History ChairKartik Kulkarnitalkingkarthik@gmail.com>
Humanitarian ActivitiesDaniel Lottisdklottis@gmail.com
Industry EngagementRam Sivaramanramsivaraman@gmail.com
Membership DevelopmentRalph Hoganrhogan@ieee.org
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Nathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Daniel Christensonchrisdan@xmission.com
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Strategic PlanningKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
SPA-X Coordinator (PACE Students)Russell Perryrperr002@ucr.edu
Training Loretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
Region Life Member CoordinatorJohn Kroonjohnkroon@earthlink.net
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorKathy Herring-Hayashikathyhh@gmail.com 
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorRavender LalRavendar.Bhojwani@ieee.org
YP-Students CoordinatorRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2017 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2017)Richard (Dick) Wilkinsdickw.ieee@gmail.com
Conference Chair, 2017 IEEE Sustain (Sustech2017)Vivek Guptavivek.gupta@nxp.com
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS17)Matthew Smithmatthew.smith.r@ieee.org
Region 6 Committees
Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator
Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees
IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach Committee R6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Mermbership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young Professionals R6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)
IEEE-USA CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional Awareness R6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&D R6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
Region 6 Areas: There are 5 geographical areas:for the Western USA: Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) Area ChairTim Worboystimothy.worboys@gmail.com
Hawaii SectionChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northern Nevada SectionChairMehmet Gunesmgunes@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairRoger DoeringRoger.Doering@csuEastBay.edu
Sacramento Valley SectionChairPreetham Kumarkumarp@ecs.csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairTheodore Grabowskytheodore.grabowsky@gmail.com
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairRamesh Ramadoss dr.ramesh.ramadoss@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairWeilian Suweilian@nps.edu
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairEd Aokie.aoki@ieee.org
Northeast (NE) AreaChairChris Gunningcgunning@ieee.org
Vice-ChairPeijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairHao Chenhaochen@boisestate.edu
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairJohn W Sheppardjsheppa2@gmail.com
Eastern Idaho SectionChairHope Forsmannhope.forsmann@inl.gov
Eastern Montana SectionChairKristopher Kenneykristopher.kenney@hdrinc.com
Utah SectionChairJennifer Hershmanjennifer.hershman@us.af.mil
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairEric Bahreric.bahr@northwestern.com
Northwest (NW) AreaChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Vice ChairRavendar Lalravendar.bhojwani@gmail.com
Alaska SectionChairJohn OwensJohn.Owens@asrcenergy.com
Central Washington SectionChairJeff Shupejshupe@gcpud.org
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionChairDonald Mortondon.morton@borealscicomp.com
Oregon SectionChairHamid R Sharifniahamids@ieee.org
Palouse SectionChairAmrit Dahaladahal@vandals.uidaho.edu
Richland SectionChairWarnick Kernanwarnick.kernan@pnnl.gov
Seattle SectionChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Spokane SectionChairAmber Orraorr@popud.org
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Buenaventura SectionChairNathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Central Coast SectionChairRuth Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairOctavio EscobedoOctavio.Escobedo.US@ieee.org
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairMike Briggsbriggs@ee.ucla.edu
Foothill SectionChairMax Cherubinm.c.us@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairCharles Caicharles.cai@sbcglobal.net
Orange County SectionChairGora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Los Angeles Council (Buenaventura, Central Coast, China Lake, Foothill, Metropolitan Los Angeles, San Fernando Valley)ChairPeter Bealchair@ieee-lac.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Vice ChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Alamogordo-Holloman SectionChairReese Sturdevant reese.sturdevant@us.af.mil
Albuquerque SectionChairJason Neelyjneely@sandia.gov
Fort Huachuca SectionChairSkyler Travis Nix skylernix@email.arizona.edu
Las Vegas SectionChairSargent Benson sgtnbenson@yahoo.com
Los Alamos/Northern New Mexico SectionChairBruce Carlstenbcarlsten@lanl.gov
Phoenix SectionChairSurinder Tuli surinder.tuli@gmail.com
San Diego SectionChairGabriel Alcalagalcala@atecorp.com
Tucson SectionChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org

Past Region 6 Directors:

  • 1963 Daniel E. Noble/1964 Bruce S. Angwin
  • 1965 Bruce S. Angwin
  • 1967 Stanley F. Kaisel
  • 1969 L. C. Hedrick
  • 1971 John J. Guarrera
  • 1973 Einar E. Ingebretsen
  • 1975 Carleton A. Bayless
  • 1977 John W. Thatcher
  • 1979 Charles A. Eldon (Bud)
  • 1981 Frederick G. Suffield
  • 1983 Ralph A. Lamm
  • 1985 Jane G. Evans
  • 1987 Richard L. Doyle
  • 1989 Allen R. Stubberud
  • 1991 Jerry C. Aukland
  • 1993 Chester C. Taylor
  • 1995 William E. Murray
  • 1997 John B. Damonte
  • 1999 W. Cleon Anderson
  • 2001 Lawrence M. Hamerman
  • 2003 Evelyn H. Hirt
  • 2005 Robert L. Baldwin
  • 2007 Loretta J. Arellano
  • 2009 Leonard J. Bond
  • 2011 Edward G. Perkins
  • 2013 Michael R. Andrews
  • 2015 Tom Coughlin