IEEE Region 6 - Western US
IEEE
Region 6 Information

Region 6 Information

Region 6 Officers and activity contacts:

region6areas

 

Region Executive Committee
PositionNameContact
DirectorKathleen Kramerk.kramer@ieee.org
Director–Elect (and Region Vice-Chair)Keith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorTom Coughlintom@tomcoughlin.com
TreasurerScott Tamashirotamashiro@ieee.org
SecretaryTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJoseph Weijoseph.wei@ieee.org
Northeast (NE) Area ChairPeijung Tsaiptsai2002@yahoo.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeTBA
Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators
PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior Membership Vasudeva Atlurivpatluri@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionTBA
ConferencesMichael Andrewsm.andrews@ieee.org
Educational Activities Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Electronic Communications CoordintorTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Government Relations ChairSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
History ChairKartik Kulkarnitalkingkarthik@gmail.com>
Humanitarian ActivitiesTBA
Industry EngagementJoe Decuirjdecuir@ieee.org
Membership DevelopmentTBA
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Nathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Loretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorTBA 2019
Strategic PlanningKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
SPA-X Coordinator (PACE Students)Catherine (Kate) Mercadojenkins@berkeley.edu
Training Loretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
Region Life Member CoordinatorJohn Kroonjohnkroon@earthlink.net
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorKathy Herring-Hayashikathyhh@gmail.com 
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorRavender LalRavendar.Bhojwani@ieee.org
YP-Students CoordinatorRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2018)Ed Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Technologies for Sustainability Conference (SusTech2018)Savada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS18)Matthew Smithmatthew.smith.r@ieee.org
Region 6 Committees
Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator
Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees
IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach Committee R6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Mermbership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young Professionals R6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)
IEEE-USA CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional Awareness R6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&D R6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
Region 6 Areas: There are 5 geographical areas:for the Western USA: Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJoseph Weijoseph.wei@ieee.org
Vice-ChairEd Aokie.aoki@ieee.org
Area SACRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Hawaii SectionChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northern Nevada SectionChairMehmet Gunesmgunes@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairRoger DoeringRoger.Doering@csuEastBay.edu
Sacramento Valley SectionChairPreetham Kumarkumarp@ecs.csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairTheodore Grabowskytheodore.grabowsky@gmail.com
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairRamesh Ramadossdr.ramesh.ramadoss@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChair
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairBill DeHopedehope1@llnl.gov
Northeast (NE) AreaChairPeijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Vice-Chairopen
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairHao Chenhaochen@boisestate.edu
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairJohn W Sheppardjsheppa2@gmail.com
Eastern Idaho SectionChairHope Forsmannhope.forsmann@inl.gov
Eastern Montana SectionChairKristopher Kenneykristopher.kenney@hdrinc.com
Utah SectionChairJennifer Hershmanjennifer.hershman@us.af.mil
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairEric Bahreric.bahr@northwestern.com
Northwest (NW) Area,/b>ChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Vice ChairRavendar Lalravendar.bhojwani@gmail.com
Area SACCharles Mayercemayer@alaska.edu
Alaska SectionChairJohn OwensJohn.Owens@asrcenergy.com
Central Washington SectionChairJeff Shupejsguy69@yahoo.com
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionChair
Oregon SectionChairHamid R Sharifniahamids@ieee.org
Palouse SectionChairBrian Johnsonb.k.johnson@ieee.org
Richland SectionChairWarnick Kernanwarnick.kernan@pnnl.gov
Seattle SectionChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Spokane SectionChairAmber Orraorr@popud.org
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice Chairopen
Area SACWalter Iuwalteriu@ieee.org
Buenaventura SectionChairNathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Central Coast SectionChairRuth Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairOctavio EscobedoOctavio.Escobedo.US@ieee.org
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairMike Briggsbriggs@ee.ucla.edu
Foothill SectionChairMax Cherubinm.c.us@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairCharles Caicharles.cai@sbcglobal.net
Orange County SectionChairGora Dattagoradatta@ieee.org
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Los Angeles Council (Buenaventura, Central Coast, China Lake, Foothill, Metropolitan Los Angeles, San Fernando Valley)Chairopenchair@ieee-lac.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Vice ChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Alamogordo-Holloman SectionChairReese Sturdevantreese.sturdevant@us.af.mil
Albuquerque SectionChairJason Neelyjneely@sandia.gov
Fort Huachuca SectionChairJim Richmannrichmann@acm.org
Las Vegas SectionChairSargent Bensonsgtnbenson@yahoo.com
Los Alamos/Northern New Mexico SectionChairBruce Carlstenbcarlsten@lanl.gov
Phoenix SectionChairSurinder Tulisurinder.tuli@gmail.com
San Diego SectionChairGabriel Alcalagalcala@atecorp.com
Tucson SectionChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Past Region 6 Directors
DateName
1963Daniel E. Noble/1964 Bruce S. Angwin
1965Bruce S. Angwin
1967Stanley F. Kaisel
1969L. C. Hedrick
1971John J. Guarrera
1973Einar E. Ingebretsen
1975Carleton A. Bayless
1977John W. Thatcher
1979Charles A. Eldon (Bud)
1981Frederick G. Suffield
1983Ralph A. Lamm
1985Jane G. Evans
1987Richard L. Doyle
1989Allen R. Stubberud
1991Jerry C. Aukland
1993Chester C. Taylor
1995William E. Murray
1997John B. Damonte
1999W. Cleon Anderson
2001Lawrence M. Hamerman
2003Evelyn H. Hirt
2005Robert L. Baldwin
2007Loretta J. Arellano
2009Leonard J. Bond
2011Edward G. Perkins
2013Michael R. Andrews
2015Thomas (Tom) Coughlin

 

Updated 30-Jan-18

 

 

  • Available Content

  • Upcoming Events

    Fri 23

    IEEE Seattle YP: Whirly Ball in Edmonds

    February 23 @ 6:15 pm - 9:30 pm
    Sat 24

    UEC Awards Banquet

    February 24 @ 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
    Sat 24

    Engineer’s Week Award Banquet

    February 24 @ 7:30 pm - 10:30 pm
    Tue 27

    February Business Meeting

    February 27 @ 5:30 pm - 7:15 pm