IEEE Region 6 - Western US
IEEE
Region 6 Information

Region 6 Information

Region 6 Officers and activity contacts:

region6areas

 

Region Executive Committee
PositionNameContact
DirectorKathleen Kramerk.kramer@ieee.org
Director–Elect (and Region Vice-Chair)Keith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
Immediate Past DirectorTom Coughlintom@tomcoughlin.com
TreasurerScott Tamashirotamashiro@ieee.org
Vice-TreasurerSarge Bensonsgtnbenson@yahoo.com
SecretaryTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
Central (CE) Area ChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Northeast (NE) Area ChairPeijung Tsaiptsai2002@yahoo.com
Northwest (NW) Area ChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Southern (SO) Area ChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) Area ChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE) ChairMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Student Activities ChairElizabeth Johnstonlise.Johnston@ieee.org
Region Student RepresentativeMariella Saviolamsaviola@sandiego.edu
Region Activity Chairs and Coordinators
PositionNameContact
Admissions and Advancement - Senior MembershipVasudeva Atlurivpatluri@ieee.org
Awards and RecognitionLoretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
ConferencesMichael Andrewsm.andrews@ieee.org
Educational ActivitiesMostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
Electronic Communications CoordintorTimothy Leett.lee@ieee.org
FinanceTreasurer: Scott Tamashiro
Vice-Treasurer: Sarge Benson
Government Relations ChairSheree Wenswen@ieee.org
History ChairKartik Kulkarni
Milestone Coord: Brian Berg
talkingkarthik@gmail.com
Humanitarian ActivitiesTBA
Industry EngagementChair: Joe Decuirjdecuir@ieee.org
VC: Yilka Masadakmyllka@yahoo.com
Membership DevelopmentChair: Ralph Hoganrhogan@ieee.org
VC and IEEE Day Chair: Abdur Rehmanramsivaraman@ieee.org
Committee: Ram Sivaramana.r.rehman@ieee.org
Milestone CoordinatorBrian Bergb.berg@ieee.org
Professional Activities (PACE)Chair: Mostafa Mortezaiemostafamortezaie@yahoo.com
VC: Alberto Tam Youngatamy001@ucr.edu
Pre-College Activities (STEM/K-12)Mostafa Mortezaiemortezaie@ieee.org
Region Vitality Coordinator (Section and Chapter Support)Elisa Barney SmithEBarneySmith@boisestate.edu
SAMIEEE CoordinatorLarry Hammermanl.hamerman@ieee.org
Sections Congress CoordinatorTBA 2019
Strategic PlanningKeith Moorekeith.moore@ieee.org
SPA-X Coordinator (PACE Students)Paulo Santos Vasconcelospaulo.vasconcelos@ieee.org
TrainingLoretta Arellanol.arellano@ieee.org
vTools CoordinatorChris Gunningcgunning@ieee.org
Region Life Member CoordinatorJohn Kroonjohnkroon@earthlink.net
Women in Engineering Region CoordinatorKathy Herring-Hayashikathyhh@gmail.com 
Young Professionals (YP) CoordinatorRavender LalRavendar.Bhojwani@ieee.org
YP-Students CoordinatorRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology Conference (GHTC2018)Ed Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Technologies for Sustainability Conference (SusTech2018)Savada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Conference Chair, 2018 IEEE Rising Stars Conference (RS18)Ramesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Region 6 Committees
Region 6 Awards Committee : R6 Awards Chair, Area Awards Chairs if appointed, others as appointed
Region 6 Membership Development Committee: R6 Membership Development (MD) Chair, MD Chairs of Sections)
Region 6 PACE Committee: R6 PACE Chair, R6 Pre-College Activities Chair, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, Section PACE Chairs)
Region 6 Student Activities Committee : R6 Student Activities Chair, R6 RSR, R6 SPA-X Coordinator, R6 Educational Activities Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair, 2016 Regional Student Activities Coordinator, 2017 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, 2018 Chair of Rising Stars Conference, additional appointees)
Region 6 Women in Engineering Committee: R6 WIE Chair, Section Affinity Group Chairs
Region 6 Young Professionals Committee: R6 YP Chair, R6 YP-Student Chair (=R1-6 Rep), others as appointed
Region 6 History: R6 History Chair, R6 IEEE Milestone Coordinator
Region 6 Representative Positions on IEEE Related Committees
IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Section Education Outreach CommitteeR6 Educational Activities Chair
IEEE Membership & Geographic Activities (MGA) CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
Admissions & AdvancementR6 Admissions and Advancement Chair
MGA AwardsR6 Awards Chair
MGA Finance CommitteeR6 Treasurer
MGA Information Management Oversight CommitteeR6 Electronic Communications Coordinator (ECC)
Membership Recruitment & Recovery CommitteeR6 Mermbership Development Chair
Sections Vitality CommitteeR6 Region Vitality Coordinator
Student Activities CommitteeR6 Student Activities Chair, R6 Regional Student Representative
Life Members CommitteeR6 Life Member Coordinator
Women in EngineeringR6 Women in Engineering Coordinator
IEEE Young ProfessionalsR6 Young Professionals Coordinator (and there is a R1-6 Representative, currently from Region 6)
IEEE-USA CommitteesRegion 6 Representative
PACER6 PACE Chair
SPA-X Student Professional AwarenessR6 SPA-X Coordinator
IEEE-USA R&DR6 Government Relations Chair
IEEE-USA Awards & Recognition CommitteeR6 Awards Chair
IEEE-USA K-12 STEM Literacy CommitteeR6 Pre-University Educational Activities Chair
updated 12-Aug-18
Region 6 Areas: There are 5 geographical areas:for the Western USA: Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southern, and Southwest.
Central (CE) AreaChairJohn Borlandjohnoborland@aol.com
Co-ChairDhaval Brahmbhattdhaval@phychip.net
Area SACRamesh Nairrameshnair@ieee.org
Hawaii SectionChairKishore Erukulapatiekishore@gmail.com
Northern Nevada SectionChairMehmet Gunesmgunes@unr.edu
Oakland-East Bay SectionChairKrishneel Kishorkrishneel@ieee.org
Sacramento Valley SectionChairSuresh K Vadhvavadhva@csus.edu
San Francisco SectionChairCharles Meecqm@cpuc.ca.gov
Santa Clara Valley SectionChairJoseph Weijoseph.wei@ieee.org
Monterey Bay Subsection of Santa Clara ValleyChairWeilian Suweilian@nps.edu
San Francisco Bay Area Council (Oakland East Bay, San Francisco, Santa Clara Valley)ChairGeorge Puffettgeorge.puffett@gmail.com
Northeast (NE) AreaChairPeijung Tsaiptsai@ieee.org
Vice-ChairSean Collisonscollison@gmail.com
Area SACRobert Stewartrstewart@ieee.org
Boise SectionChairHao Chenhaochen@boisestate.edu
Central Montana Section (Bozeman)ChairRob C Maherrob.maher@montana.edu
Eastern Idaho SectionChairHope Forsmann
hope.forsmann@inl.gov
Eastern Montana SectionChairKristopher Kenneykristopher.kenney@hdrinc.com
Utah SectionChairChad Kidderckidder@ieee.org
Western Montana Section (Butte)ChairWilliam Schubertwilliam.schubert@northwestern.com
Northwest (NW) AreaChairEd Perkinse.perkins@ieee.org
Vice ChairRavendar Lalravendar.bhojwani@gmail.com
Area SACCharles Mayercemayer@alaska.edu
Alaska SectionChairJohn Gordon Owensjgo@gci.net
Central Washington SectionChairRandall C Grovesr.groves@ieee.org
Fairbanks Subsection of Alaska SectionChairTBA
Oregon SectionChairTugrul Daimtugrul.u.daim@pdx.edu
Palouse SectionChairBrian Johnsonb.k.johnson@ieee.org
Richland SectionChairWarnick Kernanwarnick.kernan@pnnl.gov
Seattle SectionChairAlon Newtonanewton@ieee.org
Spokane SectionChairAmber Orraorr@popud.org
Southern (SO) AreaChairCharlie Jacksonc.jackson@ieee.org
Vice ChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Area SACWalter Iuwalteriu@ieee.org
Buenaventura SectionChairNathalie Gossetgosset@ieee.org
Central Coast SectionChairRuth Franklinrfranklin.ieee@gmail.com
China Lake-Bakersfield SectionChairOctavio EscobedoOctavio.Escobedo.US@ieee.org
Coastal Los Angeles SectionChairMike Briggsbriggs@ee.ucla.edu
Foothill SectionChairDavid Gonzalezdavidgonzalez@ieee.org
Metropolitan Los Angeles SectionChairCharles Caicharles.cai@sbcglobal.net
Orange County SectionChairRaja Khabbazraja.khabbaz.us@ieee.org
San Fernando Valley SectionChairSevada Isayanisayan@ieee.org
Southern California Council
ChairBrian Hagerty
brian.hagerty.us@ieee.org
Southwest (SW) AreaChairBruce Ladewigbruceladewig@ieee.org
Vice ChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
Area SACXun Luoxun.luo@ieee.org
Area ExcomSarge Benson
Alamogordo-Holloman SectionChairCleon H Barkercleon@tularosa.net
Albuquerque SectionChairJason Neelyjneely@sandia.gov
Fort Huachuca SectionChairJim Richmannrichmann@acm.org
Las Vegas SectionChairMark Damronmdamron@yahoo.com
Los Alamos/Northern New Mexico SectionChairHeather Quinnhquinn@lanl.gov
Phoenix SectionChairSurinder Tulisurinder.tuli@gmail.com
San Diego SectionChairGabriel Alcalagalcala@atecorp.com
Tucson SectionChairRichard Morsermorse@computer.org
updated 18-Apr-18
Past Region 6 Directors
DateName
1963Daniel E. Noble/1964 Bruce S. Angwin
1965Bruce S. Angwin
1967Stanley F. Kaisel
1969L. C. Hedrick
1971John J. Guarrera
1973Einar E. Ingebretsen
1975Carleton A. Bayless
1977John W. Thatcher
1979Charles A. Eldon (Bud)
1981Frederick G. Suffield
1983Ralph A. Lamm
1985Jane G. Evans
1987Richard L. Doyle
1989Allen R. Stubberud
1991Jerry C. Aukland
1993Chester C. Taylor
1995William E. Murray
1997John B. Damonte
1999W. Cleon Anderson
2001Lawrence M. Hamerman
2003Evelyn H. Hirt
2005Robert L. Baldwin
2007Loretta J. Arellano
2009Leonard J. Bond
2011Edward G. Perkins
2013Michael R. Andrews
2015Thomas (Tom) Coughlin

 

Updated 30-Jan-18

 

 

  • Available Content

  • Upcoming Events

    Wed 22

    AZ RS CHAPTER MEETING

    August 22 @ 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm
    Wed 22

    Nuclear reactor tour @ University of Utah

    August 22 @ 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm
    Thu 23

    Flexible Hybrid Electronics: System as Package

    August 23 @ 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
    Tue 28

    August Business Meeting

    August 28 @ 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm